Areas of Certification

The eight automobile areas that may be certified are:

  1. Brakes
  2. Electrical/Electronic Systems
  3. Engine Performance
  4. Suspension and Steering
  5. Automatic Transmission and Transaxle
  6. Engine Repair
  7. Heating and Air Conditioning
  8. Manual Drive Train and Axles

The four areas in bold are required for minimum certification or recertification. The minimum program requirements are identical for initial certification and for recertification. (Note: In many cases, programs may meet some requirements for certification through an articluation agreement with another institution. For more information about articulation please see the NATEF website.) The on-site evaluation team will be using the NATEF Task List to verify that your curriculum meets required objectives for each area the program is seeking to have certified. (see Standard 6.5) The Task List identifies the basic competencies required of entry-level technicians in each of the areas listed above.

NATEF Task List

The task list developed by the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) serves as the basis for the NATEF Task List. Panels of technical service experts from the automotive service industry and career technical education develop and validate the ASE and NATEF task lists.

The ASE task list is used to develop the ASE certification examination. The NATEF Task List is used to develop the End-of-Program Test, as well as to evaluate programs seeking ASE Certification.

Use the NATEF Task List in the self-evaluation process to re-evaluate the curriculum. Course objectives should be closely aligned with NATEF tasks in Areas 1-4 on the list above, and in other areas your program is seeking to have certified, if applicable.

All tasks have been assigned a Priority number which indicates the minimum percentage of those tasks, by area, that a program must include in their curriculum in order to be certified in that area.

  • Ninety-five percent (95%) of Priority 1 (P-1) items must be taught in the curriculum.
  • Eighty percent (80%) of Priority 2 (P-2) items must be taught in the curriculum.
  • Fifty percent (50%) of the Priority 3 (P-3) items must be taught in the curriculum.

You will need to demonstrate that your program meets the minimum requirements defined in the Task List for each area being evaluated.